The Tour de France and Cognitive Psychology

Talking about the Tour de France with people who watch the TDF is great. Talking about the TDF with people who are unfamiliar is also fun, they ask all kinds of questions, exactly the kind of questions I wondered about when I started watching.

This past monday I started teaching Cognitive Psychology at Texas A&M University. It is a daily course, so for fun and to break it up, I’ve been giving my class updates. When I asked who was watching the tour, not one person (out of 35) said they were watching or had ever watched the Tour. Naturally, I had to get them up to speed on some of the vocabulary of cycling as well as the nuts and bolts of the TDF. And so, I’ve given two short primer lectures, in addition to the stage winner and GC top 5 daily updates.

They seem to be enjoying it, we’re in Texas so their rooting for the home team, Lance Armstrong. By the end of the class, I think they will have enjoyed learning about the Tour, maybe some of them will even be fans. As an added bonus when they see or hear about the Tour in years to come, they will probably think about Cognitive Psychology.

-Posted by Tyler

    • mike
    • July 9th, 2009

    I’ve been enjoying you keeping me aware of the tour. It’s probably unlikely I’ll associate it with Cognitive Psychology later in life. I promise I’ll blog really soon with all sort of wedding, san francisco, minneapolis, and other general life stuff.

  1. Glad you’re enjoying the updates. It has been a fun exercise. At first I thought I would live-blog, it has turned more into pre-stage comments plus a little on the winner, (I guess more like journalism).

    General life stuff blog huh? Sounds good, life changes? looking forward to reading it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

